No churn coffee ice cream on my blog’s one year anniversary

DSC_1011I believe great people are born in September. To give you an idea, I can provide a small list. I was born in September, as were my dear husband, my mother and also my blog. Oh! and some of my friends as well. Now you know that I am celebrating the birthdays of all great things including my blog (which, like me, was born on Sept 28th). After procrastinating for ages, last year I finally started this food blog. It was a treat to myself, a birthday gift you could say. And here I must mention Sandeepa from Bong Mom’s Cookbook. On a whim, I sent her a recipe, which she accepted and posted on her blog. Somehow, this broke my long-standing mental barrier and acted like a push button. I’ll be ever grateful to her.

For my blog’s birthday, I decided to give it an ice cream treat. Some of you might be thinking why ice cream, now that summer is almost gone in most parts of the world? The reason is simple. I have been meaning to make the ice cream ever since I had it at my friend’s house. It was rich, creamy, and delicious. On top of that …it was coffee flavored. If you know anything about me, you know how much I like coffee. Let alone the beverage, I have a love affair with the word. I can eat or drink it in any form or fashion. It’s been almost half a year I had it and I was hoping to make this ice cream every weekend but somehow never got around to it. In fact, I went through three boxes of cream without actually making it, one frozen (was about to expire), one trashed (plain laziness) and then a third one waiting to be rescued in the fridge. 

DSC_1016

As birthdays are very special to me, I wanted to make something new on my blog’s birthday. Something that I like but never made it. So, I had every excuse to put the heavy cream where it was meant to be, which is inside the ice cream. I have to warn you, this recipe is very rich and creamy. But if you are an ice cream or coffee lover, you will inevitably fall in love with it. The best part is, you don’t even need an ice cream maker to make it. That’s like icing on the ice cream. Serve it with hot chocolate sauce, bits of coarsely ground coffee, shaved chocolate or drizzle a little bit coffee liqueur on it. Your call. Of course, it tastes delicious just by itself.

The recipe is borrowed from Nigella Lawson and I am copying the entire recipe here.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

1 ¼ cups heavy cream

cup sweetened condensed milk

2 tablespoons instant espresso powder

2 tablespoons espresso liqueur

DSC_1021

Whisk all the ingredients together until soft peaks form, and you have a gorgeous, café-latte-colored airy mixture, and then fill 2 x 500ml / 1 x 1-pint airtight containers, and freeze for 6 hours or overnight. Serve straight from the freezer.

DSC_1009

PS: If you do not have coffee or espresso liqueur, do not worry. Just dissolve the desired amount in hot water and then use it instead. I used Nescafé instant coffee powder instead of espresso powder. You can reduce the coffee powder to one table spoon and it will be nicely balanced. Two table spoons will give it a very strong flavor. But if you like it that way, go for it. I did.

You can whisk the heavy cream with a hand blender. If you do not have a hand blender, just whisk it with a fork or a whisk. You will have good biceps later on.

Coffee_icecream

10 comments on “No churn coffee ice cream on my blog’s one year anniversary

  1. Chitrangada says:

    Congratulations. The ice cream looks awesome, great clicks.

  2. Congratulations, that’s great. The looks really creamy and lovley for a no churn.

  3. Gopa says:

    Oh, this is a gem!

  4. Bonny says:

    Happy Birthday; Spices and Pisces!

    Soma, except the coffee beans what is it in the third pic of this post? It looks like a peanut shell.

  5. Harini says:

    Wow! This space has blossomed so beautifully! Congrats, Soma. 🙂

  6. Wine Dine says:

    Looks so deliciously inviting! Would love to have several scoops right now since it looks so good and there is always room for coffee ice cream.

Leave a Reply

